top of page

A Bit More About Me...

God, the divine border collie, has been pursuing me with his “goodness and mercy all the days of my life” (Psalm 23). All this heel-nipping has shaped me into who I am today. He corralled me to people who have made the difference.

Back in 1988 he led me a small church in Pasadena, Maryland, where I met the love of my life, Kenne Miller, my wife and shaper for the past thirty years (She died about five months ago.).


One of her favorite hymns was “When Peace like river attendeth my soul.” Part of the first verse goes like this: “Whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to say, ‘It is well, it is well, with my soul’.” She really believed that no matter what happened, God was right there with her – even when she was dying.


Two days before she died, I called our Pastor, Jay Bergstresser, to come visit her. I thought she might die that day. She always loved his visits.


All that week I could not understand what she was saying. When he walked in the room she lit up like a firecracker on the Fourth of July.


She cried out in a voice I had not heard since one day at Memorial Stadium in Baltimore Cal Ripken hit a home run. “Hi,”she cried out, “I’m going HOME!” Those were her last words.


I still can’t even write this story without my eyes turning into Niagara Falls. She went home peacefully two days later.

25 views0 comments
bottom of page